I have a sense of humor, therefore my job is funny.

2002-11-22 3:26 p.m.

When you work for a dating service there is never a dull moment, until Friday Nov. 22nd. I was just staring off into space for about 25 minutes tying to keep my eyes from blinking and seeing how long it would take for my eyes to get really watery. Yeah. That is my morning. Then I was given a mission, something with files and a filing cabinet and a label maker, you can see how well that is going. Mind you, this is all before the insane chaos that occurs everyday in our office, also known as lunch. All I want to do was order a Publix sub and the man that was taking my boss� very specific order COULD�T HEAR! Now what would possess this poor man to even answer the phone is beyond me. He was the kind of deaf elderly man that screams �Heh??!!� after everything you say. �The order is for Sara.� �BETH?� Argh.

Hmmmm and just when I thought the day was going downhill, one of those �never a dull moment moments� happens. Ok my job in a nutshell; dating service, it�s very expensive to join and during our interviews with potential members, we get to know them inside and out so we can overcome all their rebuttals, they are sneaky sales people what do you expect?? :) So we ask them about their past, credit and criminal history mainly. And we don�t do checks but we make them think we do, so inevitably they end up telling us the whole truth. This man just came in and upon filling out his questionnaire (question 16 being ever convicted of a felony?) He bolts to the door and we try and convince him to tell us what�s wrong, sadly more for our entertainment value then pure niceness. He says, �Yeah I got convicted of attempted murder and did time, will this disqualify me?� All I could do was make the small penis gesture with my hands, I was speechless. Then he says, �yeah and if I fuck up again I will end up back in the slammer.� He actually said slammer. Needless to say he left, but I think the sound of my jaw hitting the desk is what ultimately scared him away. Yikes and this thing comes full circle, when you work at a dating service there is never a dull moment.

That being said I can�t wait to get the fuck out of here. :)

Hey!! Catch Up On Your Reading...

- - August 14, 2004

- - June 02, 2004

Cheer - March 08, 2004

It's Not a Tumor... - February 26, 2004

I need a doctor - February 22, 2004