Pop Culture Icon My Fat Ass!!!

July 27, 2003 11:03 a.m.

OK I have a bone to pick here. As of today I have officially lost all respect for VH1 and People magazine. Since Monday night I have been obsessed with their show on VH1 about the 200 great pop culture icons of all time. That kind of shit has my name written all over it. All week long while counting down to number 1, boyfriend and I shouted out guesses for people/characters that should be close to number 1, if not number 1...."Marilyn Monroe....JFK.... Jacko.... James Dean.... Mickey Mouse..."

My bone to pick is as follows.....(and a warning to anyone to has seen this but doesn't know what number 1 turned out to be.. I'm gonna tell ya)

The Simpsons were number 21, and Britney fucking Spears was number 20. She is apparently more popular than a show that has been on for 14 years. Now, while counting down to number 1 I saw all the true pop culture icons getting passed ..... leaving Oprah Winfrey to be the greatest pop culture icon of all time. I had to take every ounce of my power not to hurl my remote at my TV. OPRAH???!!!!! That woman is more a pop culture icon than Elvis?? Then fucking Superman?? Wha???? It made my whole week of faithful VH1 viewing completely worthless. No offense meant at all to anyone who has watched Oprah and enjoyed it.. but there is no way in hell that she is more of an icon than Elvis. Is there a town in America that is famous for Oprah impersonators?? No. Is Oprah the king of pop music?? Was she the first woman to pose for Playboy? NOOOO

My rant is done.... but damn.

Who is with me?

Hey!! Catch Up On Your Reading...

- - August 14, 2004

- - June 02, 2004

Cheer - March 08, 2004

It's Not a Tumor... - February 26, 2004

I need a doctor - February 22, 2004