I Just Wanted a Round of Applause...

December 09, 2003 10:08 p.m.

Boy oh boy, what a suck ass day. My super neato movie presentation was due today. At the last minute I remembered I wanted the Office Space DVD in order to show a clip from it for class. I went to three stores and all three only had the full frame version. Uh uh. Then I went to Blockbuster to return a DVD BY NOON!! And as I was walking to the drop box I opened the case and it was empty. Now I owe those bastards more money.

So I go to class and we didn't start our presentations until an hour into the class, needless to say we didn't have enough time for them all... so it was my turn, but another class was meeting in our room so we moved to the mother of all classrooms. The theater room. Stadium seating, surround sound, movie theater sized screen hooked up for DVD and the computer and all can be controlled, including the lights with a little remote on the desk. I burned my presentation to a disk, popped it in and all of my fonts turned to wingdings. This fucking state of the art room only had windows 98 on the computer and since I have XP, the fonts I used were non existent. I got to show my 2 minute "these go to 11" clip then we had to move out of that classroom because another class was meeting there. By this point only 7 students were left since our actual class ended an hour ago. We go back to our original class and the computer is not registering that there is a cd rom drive, still can't do my presentation. Then out of the last 2 students that remain, one offered to put it on his laptop just so my professor could see it. We did that. It was a Mac laptop. My font STILL DID NOT SHOW UP... windings... it was all wingdings. So he went through the pages of my PowerPoint thing and changed the font quick and my professor skimmed through all 30 slides in about two minutes because she needed to go home. Since we did it page by page we didn't get any of the neato effects with PowerPoint that I worked two weeks on. I didn't even get to show all my movie clips. The kid looked at me and said, "are you okay?" I managed to hold back tears till I got to the car. I am so disappointed. Being able to give an oral presentation on cult movies is like a once in a lifetime chance, considering I'm going into the medical field. I worked so hard.

oh well

Hey!! Catch Up On Your Reading...

- - August 14, 2004

- - June 02, 2004

Cheer - March 08, 2004

It's Not a Tumor... - February 26, 2004

I need a doctor - February 22, 2004